1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Skunk Critique

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by neecf02, Jul 13, 2013.

1. neecf02

neecf02 New Member

Hi there. This is my second mammal mount that I've done and my very first skunk (first one was a opossum). I haven't painted his eyes, nose, and mouth yet so they look a bit not right. His white stripe on his nose is naturally not center with his nose. I was worried that there was too much in the habitat, but I named him flower so there's supposed to be a lot of fufu stuff. Please be honest with your thoughts, I need to learn to see mistakes. Thanks...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. fougair

fougair New Member

Well i am no pro but... it looks kinda rough, use good reference the coat look nice, eyes look too wide open try to close them if possible.Looks like the lips were not thin enough they look jagged( for lack of a better description) It looks like the end of the tail was blown out (white tuft of fur) I like the wall mount idea with the butterflys.This is just my opinion maybe others could give a better critique.

3. neecf02

neecf02 New Member

Thanks for your input. These were the reference photos that I used for the face. It appears to me that the eyes are supposed to be pretty wide open and very round, so that's how I tried to do it. The mouth does look a bit rough, partially because its not painted yet and also I cut too much foam out of the mouth for tucking in the skin, so its kind more open than I like. I have seen some skunks with a tuft of white hair at the very tip of the tail. He isn't missing any hair or tail skin at all. I fleshed and tanned this skunk myself, so I know its not missing anything...its all there. Again thanks for your input.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]