1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Maggots in a two day old mount?

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by Wheatfields, Aug 12, 2013.

1. Wheatfields

Wheatfields The woods are my home

It has been hot as hell here and Im new at Taxidermy !
    I mounted a deer on Saturday am and now there are tiny little Maggots coming out of corner of eye area ( Monday am ). I was wondering if any of you guys or gals knew how to rid these things before problems happen ? Advice will be greatly appreciated..

2. JL

JL Taxidermist for 64 years

Think maybe there's some meat left in there???

3. Wheatfields

I fleashed what I thought was good and opened eye lids to the follicles ? Something has to be in there ... there were about 10 between the two eyes should have mounted it in the house w AC ,i guess. Garage is where work is done / it was humid and hot . Now I have these little shits !

4. 2wbdft

2wbdft Member

Maggot's?

what were your steps to get it from a dead deer to where it was prior to mounting it up? was it tanned at all?

5. ljones

ljones 1994 wasco award winner

are you mounting a raw skin with dry preserve,? if so it needs to be kept in a reasonable temperature with a fan running on it , until the skin starts to dry some

6. Wheatfields

It was tanned with McKenzie tan and McKenzie ultimate acid step by step. Not sure if it's the heat or humidity that is causing this problem but want to get it stopped before we lose the mount. What I need is advice on how to kill these bastards. This has never happened before and need to know how to get it corrected. Any advice Low T or George Roof?

7. bmdakk

bmdakk Report to moderator

8. Todd B

Todd B Active Member