1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Importing African hides

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by davehyer, Sep 11, 2013.

1. davehyer

davehyer Active Member

My clients outfitter is telling him he is shipping his hides to Chicago and he has to go pick them up and he lives in Ohio.

What is required to accept this shipment, is there anyone or place in Ohio that these hides can be shipped to?

I assume there is but I have no experience with this, any help is appreciated.

2. davehyer

davehyer Active Member

Not sure but I can find out, my client just called me and I told him I would see what I could do for him, pm me your phone number and ill call you when I find out.
    Thanks

3. Huntman

Huntman Guest

all in bound shipments can only enter the US in a designated port. I doubt, yours is one of them. an export vet cert., any CITIES export documents need to be included for USF&W, customs and USDA clearance at the port of entry, into the US. A valid Cities is also needed from the US for import, as well as total USDA clearance of any swine products, or ANY hunted trophy packed in the same crate with any swine product. Unless you are a USDA approved establishment, any swine products included with the other trophies, only complicates matters. Your best bet is to find a tannery that offers clearance service. Most African skull's are included in the shipment, adding weight, and an extra expense to you for horn and skull shipping from the tannery. Your customer, after paying the bill of lading, all transfer fee's from either Frankfort or London, then paying the final bill just to get the work in your hands, it is at that point they are spent out. Be smart, shrewd, and be aware

4. Huntman

Huntman Guest