1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Garment Tanning?

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by hybrid, Jun 8, 2007.

1. hybrid

hybrid New Member

Hey guys! Total newb here but here goes.

Just recently started hunting and while Im not big on mounts (my first hunt ever was oryx and I gave the mount away) I do want to be able to utilize as much as I can from the animals I hunt.

In anycase Ive decided I will start practicing my rifle swing skills (I had to shoot off hand at a pretty fast and really tough animal!!!) by getting a fur bearer license and hunting rabbit (jack and cotton tail)

Ive got a half way decent idea of how to get the animal skinned (thanks to the right and proper introduction with the oryx) and I understand that they are incredibly thin skinned (the rabbits of course) but Im sure with some patience and a little bit of luck I can skin and salt some skins on my first outing.

BACK TO MY ORIGINAL THOUGHT! haha

To me it seems the best way for me to justify killing them is to make garment quality tans out of the hides. Am I gonna wear it? Probably not but hey if Davey Crocket looks come back Ill be ahead of the game!

Can anyone introduce me to good books and good techniques to starting this quest? Id like to learn this and buckskinning (fur off soft leather?) and not have tons of heart aches in the process!

Thanks guys!

2. freddy d

freddy d New Member

Animal brains work great and there are some good books on brain tannig and some info on line

3. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

You'll need to send them out to have them professonally done if you want "garment" quality. Only a special machine can "split" a hide to garment thickness. It actually shaves the hide down so that a consistent thickness is maintained throughout. W.B. Place in Wisconsin does them. There are a few other places as well, but make sure you request GARMENT quality.