1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

What are the most frustrating things you experience as a commercial taxidermist?

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by kjjones, Dec 20, 2013.

1. kjjones

kjjones New Member

I just thought it would be interesting to hear what y'all find to be the most frustrating thing(s) you have to deal with being a commercial taxidermist. I am a beginner myself but thought it would be interesting to hear all the not so good stuff that I and others might have to look forward to in the future of starting our own businesses.

2. Tri-State

Tri-State Member

One thing that bothers me is the thanklessness of being a boss. This probably caries over for most industries. Customers and employees don't care as much as the owner does. Customers and employees don't care that the owner does care the most. To the customers all taxidermists are trying to screw their customers. To employees all bosses are out to screw them. An employee won't even tell you thankyou on payday when he gets his check and you have to go home and tell your wife you still couldn't pay yourself and you sit down at a table to look in your kids eyes as they eat macaroni and cheese for the third time this week. When you get to work the following Monday half the employees show up hungover and some not at all. Then they start crying about how tough they have it and they aren't being compensated enough. You will bend over backwards to help a client and not get compensated for it and then he won't even say thank you. Everybody will want your help and your favors and not a one of them would notice if you were dead tomorrow.

I am not crying about it. I am telling you the facts of being a business owner because you asked. I chose this life.

3. Harry Whitehead

Harry Whitehead I love to hunt Buffalos!!!!!