1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Pig Skull

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by bitbit, Jan 10, 2014.

1. bitbit

bitbit New Member

I am very new to skull cleaning and have a question about the pig skull I just took out of the beetle tank. It appears to be damaged and I'm wondering if the damage is caused by something I did. I noticed the jaw was a little bit shattered as I was removing some of the flesh but figured I had just been too rough with it. I did not notice the damage shown in the picture until after I removed it from the beetle tank. I'm not sure what I could have done that would have caused this? There was another piece of bone fragment that came off of the area that I will try to glue back on. Thank you for any information you can provide.

Attached Files:

• pig.jpg
      pig.jpg
      File size:
      17.7 KB
      Views:
  2. That looks to be more like a gunshot...

3. bitbit

bitbit New Member

I thought so too but the skull came with the hide on it and there didn't appear to be a gunshot wound.

4. boarhunter67

boarhunter67 Well-Known Member

Contact the customer and tell them it looks like there was some damage due to a gun shot and ask if they want you to repair or leave it as it is. It's not difficult to repair something like that, but you should charge for it.

5. bitbit

bitbit New Member

I'm the customer in this situation, lol. I think it looks kind of cool how it is, was just worried it was a result of something I had done wrong.

6. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

Nope. Beetles won't do that. This could also be an old injury that the wound healed over or possibly an abscess. The the head look entirely normal before you started work on it? There is blood staining in the bone there which indicates an injury of some type.

7. torilockart

torilockart New Member

Definitely looks like an injury on the animal.

8. bitbit