1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

how to dry ducks?

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by skullplate2, Jan 16, 2014.

1. skullplate2

skullplate2 Acts 10:13

How do you dry a duck when you get done degreseing it

2. finazducks

finazducks EJ is not the only one to have two Wasco Awards

Dog groomer blower

3. cjm1233

cjm1233 New Member

Trust me I messed around with a hair dryer until I tried a tumbler. 1,000% better results in a fraction of the time . I use a drier with no heat blowing in at all, with cedar shavings( a lot use corn cob grit). I was shocked with the results that made such a better mount.

4. i've been using a small shop vac for 10 years with great results, but i also wrap my washed, not gassed bird up in a towel and run it thru the spin cycle on my washing machine first
    Shop vac is great for all but very large geese and turkeys, just takes a while longer on bigger birds.

Riversbend Taxidermy likes this.
  5. After I tumble it I do use a hair dryer to get the down dry...but you have to make sure it isn't too hot.

6. I'm too cheap/low production for a tumbler. Spin cycle in the washing machine then about 5 to 10 minutes blow drying on warm. I always turn it down to cold around the neck and head but I've never had a problem using warm air on the rest of the bird.

7. TWinter

TWinter Winter taxidermy

Funny that I have never had a bit of trouble(knock on wood), on using a hair dryer on warm.

8. taxos

taxos Finches, Buntings

I use a blowdryer !

9. turkeyshooter

turkeyshooter Member

In Taxidermy Today I noticed that Rick Morris uses a blow dryer on hot. He should know. Anyway his article covered that in one of the last 4 issues I believe. Might check it out.

10. Lizardfeathers

Lizardfeathers Thank you for teaching me through your works...