1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Help with bill painting??

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by remi700, Feb 10, 2014.

1. remi700

remi700 New Member

Hi im fairly new to taxidermy. I have bought an airbrush and done a few ducks with it. No problem with single colour bills but im doing a pair of gadwall at the minute and im not sure how to do the hen bill. How are the 2 colours blended and how is the mottling done?? Thanks in advance. Mark.

2. Ok Mark, here's the no frills answer. Apply a base coat, the lighter colour, first. Then apply the darker colour gently and "allow" the two to blend, darker where needed, or lighter. Mottling can be achieved by using various types of sponges for applicators dipped lightly in desired colour and rolled onto bill. That's a VERY condensed version. Good luck!

3. alan webfoot

alan webfoot New Member

you could also paint base colors ,then apply spots on hen gadwall with a very fine brush and THINNED paint ,if you use laquers then spot with water base to not cut the base coats ,seal with modpodge matte done. Make sure spots are applied with very thin paint as to not produce a build up or thicker layer.

4. remi700

remi700 New Member

Thanks for the advice guys. About time i got some casting done and got this pair mounted. I have a freezer crisis at the minute!! ;D

5. donrutlege

donrutlege Guest

S buy the book from WASCO on bird finishing. Best money you'll spend

6. rai_red

rai_red Active Member

or take the waterfowl bill finishing manual by Joe Ferebee, very easy to do, got one to Germany from a good friend in the US and I wonder, how simple it is to do some bills,
    Rainer

7. TIM SCHLOSS

TIM SCHLOSS Member