1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Skull Identification and cleaning

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by thellamattina, Feb 24, 2014.

1. thellamattina

thellamattina New Member

Hello all, I am a beginner to taxidermy, never even touched it in my life. I work at the local Goodwill in the warehouse and this came through today in a box of donations and I picked it up for $6.00.
    I just thought it would be a neat piece to have on display even if it is in rough shape and missing some pieces.

1. What type of animal is it?
    2. What is the metal wire in the back?
    3. It appears to be in very rough shape, I am going to glue the jaw portion back together the best I can, Is this even worth fixing?
    4. What procedure should I use to clean/disinfect/soak it? There appears to be "matter" in a lot of the small crevices and inside the center
    of the skull.... no idea what it is!

Thanks guys! Here are a bunch of pictures.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Kendall

Kendall Active Member

It is a cow/steer. The wire appears a way the previous owner used for a hanger.

3. In my opinion, I'd say its a cow elk. Where are you located?

4. I second the cow elk, the forehead doesn't seem broad enough to be steer.

5. thellamattina

thellamattina New Member

Thanks for all the information, I'm assuming by COW elk you mean a female elk which would not have antlers?

How would I clean this skull? Just soak it in hydrogen peroxide for a day or so? Pure hydrogen peroxide or do I dilute it in any way?

Also I live in northern Illinois right on the border of Wisconsin so I am not sure how I would have gotten an elk skull!

6. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member