1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Mckenzie sells out

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by michael j, Mar 13, 2014.

1. Had a client call for a quote on a repro hippo, gave him the price, delivered and hung on his wall, a couple weeks latter I was told he called McKenzie himself and bought the hippo and got the 12% discount ( over $1000 .00 ) The man is a butcher by trade , not a taxidermist at all. McKenzie has no loyalty to the taxidermist who buy from then on a regular basis. I know it's a free enterprize system and they can sell to whom they choose,

Just letting everyone know what happened,

michael j

2. Jim Kimball

Jim Kimball New Member

I know this is a dog eat dog world...... but this SUCKS !!

3. michael p.

michael p. Getting better with age :)

Are Taxidermist truly licensed in all states ? NO! It would be impossible to regulate who is and who is not a taxidermist. As long as they have a tax I.D. number they can sell it to them without paying sales tax.

What you are asking supply companies to do would require a federal regulation and also cut out that poor little 10 year old boy from ordering his first items as most of us did.

4. NO what i am saying is they shouldn't bite the hand that feeds them, I spend almost 20K a year at mckenzie, they have the best service and good products, Just don't give our clients a dicount when they go behind our back to do the purchase, This guy is doing an elaphant hunt next year , bet he buys the repro mount direct again,

mj

5. davehyer

davehyer Active Member

yeah I don't get that either, they could charge taxidermists less if they wanted to, they just don't want to. My dad ran a service station for 23 years, all of the parts stores sold him parts at dealer cost which was way cheaper than joe blow off the street paid, no license involved just a business account.