1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

1st Bird.....Let me have it

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by [email protected], Mar 15, 2014.

1. aspenangler@hotmail.com

[email protected] B+______><(((°>______><(((°>

Let me first start by saying I have the utmost respect for the bird folks. This was my first bird and I have struggled on and off for the past 24 hours with it. It seems as though now, every time that I try and fix 1 thing two new problems show up :)

[​IMG]

2. JerseyJays

JerseyJays Well-Known Member

I'm no duck expert, but 3 things stick out right away...
    1 - wings are outside the side pockets when should be under
    2- his stance is too wide
    3- I would tuck his head lower and taxi neck up more to make it fuller...

Other things I think would help:
    Tilt butt down so it's not level
    Spread his toes and pin

3. B Jones

B Jones Memeber of - NTA,UTA,AIT.Proud Member of NZTA.

Birds are not easy to learn, but all species have there difficulties. Take your time to study the carcass before discarding it. Think from the inside out, if you do your bird will look better on the outside. Take the carcass and pose it the way you intend to mount it. Look at the mechanics of movement and how everything has it's place. Build your bird from the inside out, put it all together before mounting.

We don't always have extra birds to do this with but if you do sometime. Pluck the bird clean leaving the wings, legs and everything attached. Pose the bird how you want it and study the bird. I know everyone says study reference pictures and I get it, you need them for general placement of feather tracks etc. but the carcass is the best reference that there is.