1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Finished my training with Wingman!

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Jason Rader, Apr 15, 2014.

1. Just got back home from training in Montana with Eugene Streekstra and let me tell you.......the man is a machine! We had so much fun yet covered way more than I ever thought possible in 4 days. He definitely gave me my money's worth putting in all 12 hour days. Mounted two birds a day start to finish and explained every single step in detail. He showed multiple ways to do just about everything so I could try them out and decide for myself what works best for me. As a hobbyist, I really only knew a little bit from watching videos and reading posts on here so he pretty much had a blank canvas to start with. But he was more than willing to demonstrate each move he made, why he does it that way, and offered alternatives in case that didn't work or a problem arises. If I had to pick the one thing that stood out the most...it was learning the hip attachment for the legs. Being able to accurately reproduce the anatomy and correctly position the body made everything else that much easier. He gifted me a prime shoveler to mount and I couldn't be more pleased with the result. I had him "grade" me as I moved from step to step to make sure it was going right. Truth be told..he did have to assist me a few times along the way but in the end it only gave me more knowledge for in the future. Anyone interested in getting some good bird training I highly recommend getting in touch with him. He let me film everything I wanted and even narrated as he worked so I'd have good reference videos when I left. He's a top notch instructor and all-around great guy. His family was very welcoming and the shop was immaculate and extremely organized. Although he doesn't frequent taxinet much anymore he's very active on facebook as "Wildfowl Unlimited". I suggest