1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Preserving velvet antlers

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by rdaniel, Apr 19, 2014.

1. I have a rack that is hard w/velvet on them, I would like to preserve them w/o freeze dry them. Does anyone know how this can be done?
    Thanks,
    Robert

2. Old Fart

Old Fart Active Member

Freeze drying is only useful to keep shrinkage to a minimum, it has very little preservation properties beyond that. Especially in keeping the bugs from finding and "enjoying" the velvet. That's a lesson I learned the "hard way"! I've been preserving velvet antlers for many years with the following method. I've used it for very soft summer antlers and to preserve the dried shards of velvet on half rubbed antlers. I submerse the rack in alcohol for half a day or so. That kills any bacteria that may cause decomposition and pulls moisture from the velvet. Then the rack goes into a Borax solution for about half a day and then back into the alcohol, again for at least half a day, then....done. If the rack is soft under the velvet I repeat the steps for several days until I feel enough Borax has been absorbed into the velvet. The final step in both cases is the soak in alcohol. ANY alcohol will do. The sole purpose of the alcohol is to remove the water and kill bacteria. Cheaper is better and I get my Methyl alcohol from my local LP dealer, they use it to clean LP tanks before filling. At that point you can send the "soft" antlers to a freeze dryer. If they are hard under the velvet, just let them dry out.

3. When say "borax solution" pease explain. Just borax or with something?

Thanks -Kerwin

4. Old Fart

Old Fart Active Member

"solution" kind of implies that the borax is dissolved in "something"........unless they have changed the meaning of the term since I took Chemistry. BORAX AND WATER!

5. turkeyshooter

turkeyshooter Member