1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Can you reuse pickling baths multiple times??

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Andrew M, Apr 26, 2014.

1. this might be a simple question but I'm new to tanning. so if I've got a big pickle bath with a lot of hides and then a week or so later (after I've removed all the hides) i get a lot more hides. rather then pouring out all of that water, salt, and acid can i just reuse it? (i would probably need to add more acid depending on the PH level) or should i just start with fresh water, salt, and acid ???

thanks guys!!

Andrew

2. duxdown

duxdown New Member

Check the archives this has been gone over tons of times.

3. Bruce_Rittel

Bruce_Rittel Consultant Services

Andrew is right - but simply said. Make sure before you reuse it, make sure the pH is correct, and have a Salinometer to check that your Salt level is about 40-43%! Tanneries do it all the time! Unless its dirty!

4. how would you define dirty?? when i pull out my hides from the pick the water always looks dark and kinda dirty. i was reading in the archives about it and people say to get a salinometer. i assume u can buy those through Mckenzie, Van Dykes, and WASCO??

5. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor