1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

G'day, new bloke to the forum from Australia

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by CBR954, May 19, 2014.

1. G'day everyone. New to the forum and thought I would introduce myself as I'll be hanging around here a bit as I'm looking at trying my hand at a bit of taxidermy soon.

My name is James and I live on the east coast of Australia, about an hour North of Sydney. Have access to a few different properties around NSW where I've hunted everything from bunnies, foxes, cats, goats, pigs up to Fallow deer. I'm sure a lot of you would know we have 6 species of deer in Australia, and I am yet to get something other than Fallow but I am working on it. I have been hunting for about 5 years now, and am starting to build up a few trophies which I'm very happy with, especially as time to get out hunting is hard to find for me unfortunately.

I have been thinking about getting into mounting animals for a while and am going to have a red hot crack at it. I know it's not easy, and you get a lot of advice saying just take it to a professional. But it is something I am serious about learning, and pretty much just for my own personal use for my trophies. I'm just going to take my time and do as much research as I can.

I am buying a couple of DVDs and I have a photo reference CD coming for fallow deer. I have two fallow capes getting tanned at the moment. One will be my first run on a small head, and IF I am happy with the result I will do my big head as well. This forum looks like an amazing resource so I will be trawling it thoroughly. I'll keep any questions to a minimum unless I can absolutely not figure out what I'm after.