1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

taking in new species...how do you know if you are ready?

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by juli, May 27, 2014.

1. juli

juli Active Member

I feel pretty competent in my abilities as a taxidermist - my ability to read reference material and also to use the skills I have learned and apply them to 'new' mounts, but found myself in a situation today that I wasn't prepared to give an answer for....

Had a guy call me today asking if I do african mounts. I said 'no, I honestly don't, because I don't feel comfortable taking money for doing mounts I have limited experience doing." He understood but was disappointed I think...I am sure he saw some pix of my other work elsewhere...

Soooo, while kicking myself for turning down business on the one hand, I am forced to wonder...

when do other taxidermist give a 'go' for mounting things they've never mounted? At what point do you say, 'Yep, I can mount that for you'. Especially if you have no photos or references to show that you really have experience with that or those animals?

Thanks!
    Juli

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    I wont advocate practicing on customer work but, how will you ever know when you are ready? If you are straight forward from the get go, and the customer is on board, I say go for it. There are issues that have to be dealt with on just about everything you mount, you deal with them the best you are able to and move on. Your job is to sell yourself and your abilities to a prospective customer and let them make the decision.

3. Paul B

Paul B Active Member