1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Hard well water and Tanning

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by murph, Sep 30, 2014.

1. murph

murph Member

Ok ....I looked in the archives and really couldn't narrow this down to a good answer but here goes....I've been tanning using the same well water for the past 10 yrs. or so. Since the last season, I've had a change in the contents of the water as far as a smell like sulfur and rust. The rust problem is really new. I really notice it from one of my outdoor water outlets.... blows a rusty water for a few seconds before it clears up. (by the way... my home is protected with a good whole house filter)I've got a new landfill going in that borders my property and I wanna toss that out there but that's a whole different conversation(health dept had tested already but no results yet.. like I've said I notice a difference in my water and lost 2 deer capes just recently. Can someone out there kinda give me a heads up on how to go about knowing weather or not my problem is in the water or not? I'm using the same stuff as always, the safety acid pickle, (1 gal of water, 1 lb of salt and 1/2 oz of safety acid ) and liqua-tan. PH is held to a 1.5 or 2 max for 3 days.. shave n pickle one more day then final flesh then neutralize n freeze or mount.... I've not run into this issue before.... PH as near as I can tell right out of the well is about 7 or so.... Help me if you can to understand all this .....

Thanks, Lance

2. pir^2h

pir^2h Retrievers give you the bird