1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Lutan-F tanning procedures

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by twinrivers, Oct 19, 2014.

1. I am no expert on tanning but have followed the procedures of my instructor who has been doing this for 30 some years with great success. It interests me but I do not currently have the time to study the different processes and still maintain employment and a taxidermy business. She swears by Oxalic acid pickle and Lutan-F tan and for that reason I use it. So amongst all of the controversy that has been thrown on here about the Lutan directions being incorrect I decided to text her about this to get some clarification and I received an immediate phone call from her yesterday. She had attended several tanning seminars led by Bruce Rittel over the years and even notified the owner of Knoblochs about this topic for clarification. I know there will be some that disagree and have their own ideas and tanning preferences but through her research, training, and experience this is in a nutshell what I took away form our brief conversation: Raw/green hides must be salted prior to pickle, pickled hides must be neutralized prior to tanning, and you need to have a pH of 3.8 when tanning with Lutan-F.