1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

struggling on birds

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by E. Byrd, Dec 3, 2014.

1. E. Byrd

E. Byrd Member

im trying to be a self taught bird man and the videos ive bought basically are no help at all.. ive gotten better at the skinnng and fleshing(still tearing some on teal and woodducks) but i seem to be going backwards with putting it all back together.. ive tried artificial heads on my last attempt and it went worse than the real skull. im also have heck trying to get the wire out past the (wrist) bones. any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. nina5150

nina5150 Well-Known Member

I just started doing ducks.i will take the wire and sharpin the ends so its easier to poke threw not only skin but forms as well.i also had taken a really beat up duck that was unmountable and used it to my advantage,well tryed,still trying..lol..which i have to make another one..being that i articulate skeletons,i took a duck and removed all the tissue and articulated it.seeing where all the bones go,where they are located,how they sit on the body kinda helps.get a duck not worthy of mounting,remove skin and eviscerate it and freeze.take it out and use it as reference. So when you try to put the wire threw the wrist you can see what you are hitting and what you need to maneuve around.might be a little helpful..just saying.helps me some..good luck and keep at it..

3. TWinter

TWinter Winter taxidermy