1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Please Wash Your Cockatiel...

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Lizardfeathers, Dec 21, 2014.

1. Lizardfeathers

Lizardfeathers Thank you for teaching me through your works...

If you want to...

I have read through the archives and many have said that you shouldn't wash cockatiels or any birds in the cockatoo family of parrots. I can't say for cockatoos, but I just mounted a cockatiel and decided to wash it in Dawn dish soap as other birds. I then used powdered borax in a large jar to "tumble" the skin. Then I used a hair drier to fluff and dry. After tumbling, blow drying, tumbling, and blow drying it was plenty fluffy and "powdery".

This bird was an eBay purchase and was apparently killed by a dog unbeknownst to me. It has damage to the face skin, feet, chunks of feathers missing, ect. I'm still a beginner but I wanted to add to the forum that you can wash them but you need to replace the "fluffiness" that these parrots have.

(Sorry, still drying :-[)
    [​IMG]

2. Thanks for posting Lizard Feathers. I have also recently washed a cockatiel and it came out fine.

Greats job, what a cutie!

3. Nice cock bird lizardfeathers,good job.

4. Nancy C

Nancy C Well-Known Member

I'm one of the ones who suggested that cockatiels and cockatoos should not be washed if it's possible to avoid it but sometimes you really don't have that option.
    Obviously it's better to wash them than to leave them dirty, and they can definitely be filthy - especially if they died sick.
    If you wash them thoroughly, cockatiels will dry to be a shade or two darker in color than they were when they were alive. Fluffing them in potato starch will help to minimize the change but I have never been able to get one back to exactly like it was without cheating. (*cough* airbrush *cough*)