1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Need help degreasing lizard skulls

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by jcrichardson617, Jan 14, 2015.

1. jcrichardson617

jcrichardson617 New Member

Hi all,

Been lurking a while here, learning a lot of great stuff!

I am a biologist currently doing a gut content analysis on invasive iguanas in south Florida, rather than create a bunch of waste, I'm saving the skulls and a few skeletons. The bones are SUPER greasy. I know the whole dawn or ammonia method, but the problem is the bones will separate if left in there too long. I tried a luke warm ammonia bath yesterday and after an hour they were soft and the quadrates as well as some other bones were coming loose. Any tips on how to get these clean?

2. RENUIRT

RENUIRT Member

..did you try using acetone..?..that's what I used on my iguana skull and it worked really well..I had it soaked in acetone for over a month just to make sure i get all the grease out..hope this works for you too!

3. jcrichardson617

I have not. Just let in soak in pure acetone? Did you change the liquid at all or just kept the same batch? And the skull wasn't falling apart? I shall try that.

4. RENUIRT

RENUIRT Member

..yea let it soak in pure acetone. I don't change the liquid at all I keep reusing it because acetone is expensive. If you're gonna try it, you'll need to get a sealed container so that the acetone won't evaporate. Put the bones inside, fill it up with acetone and degrease until you're satisfied. Be careful whitening the bones with peroxide. You leave it too long and the ligaments/tissues will soften and there's a tendency the skull will fall apart.

5. Do you preserve the iguanas' skins also?

6. lokireptiles

lokireptiles Member