1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Mountain goat tanning

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Andrews Taxidermy Studio, Feb 9, 2015.

1. I recently bought a mountain goat cape from a member on here. It has been salted for approx. 1 Year.
    I re-hydrated in water, salt, & Lysol. It re-hydrated in 5 hours. I washed it in Purox (laundry Soap) & cold water.
    Rinsed very well and put it in a Oxalic Acid Pickle.
    This is my first mountain goat tan, but I have been tanning everything for 29 years with Oxalic acid & Lutan-f.
    My question, It feels Leathery, is that how they are, skin composition wise.
    I'm waiting on Kemal-4 and Super solve Degreaser.
    Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Andrew

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

If I was tanning for 29 years I would know by now that Lysol has a high Ph value and will cause slippage. It no longer had phenol in it and is useless in this industry. I've done goats and no it really doesn't feel like that so not sure what's going on other than your method for hydrating a skin. Not trying to be a Pr here but I would recheck my hydrating issues.

3. Thanks for the reply Frank. I have read a lot of your posts on here, very informative.
    I used the Lysol because the cape was bloody and quite dirty, (same for laundry detergent)
    I pH tested the Lysol, salt, H2o and added acid until I reached a 6 - slightly acidic. safety zone.
    It did have that leathery feel after re-hydration, It appeared to be fully hydrated.
    Should this cape have the same feel as say, a whitetail or more like a coyote feel.
    It is looking good in the pickle.

4. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor