1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Pricing for crow mounts

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by ofearthandbone, Feb 25, 2015.

1. ofearthandbone

ofearthandbone New Member

I do not know how much to sell crows for. I am still a novice but a friend is going to get some crows for me. I know crows are considered varmint here in maine so not sure if they are of less value.
    Thanks!

2. B.S.O'Hare

B.S.O'Hare Member

I'm not 100% sure about this, but I believe crows are considered migratory birds. As such they can be mounted, but not sold, same as ducks and geese.

3. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Correct. At least in the U.S.

BrookeSFD16 likes this.
  4. jwprentice1

jwprentice1 New Member

Yes! Crows are considered Migratory Birds. There are seasons in some states. As such they can't be sold. If they are taken during a legal season,they can be possessed and mounted but not sold.

5. akvz

akvz New Member

They're priceless.

The only birds you're going to be able to sell will be farm-raised with paperwork, and non-native birds including pigeons, starlings, and house sparrows.

6. Nancy C

Nancy C Well-Known Member

To put it plainly, in the USA it is both a federal and a state crime to sell or barter crows or any of their body parts, including their feathers. Dead, alive, mounted - it doesn't matter.
    Yes, it would be legal to sell them IF they were captive bred and came with the necessary permits, but first you would have to find a captive-bred crow. (Hint: good luck. The few that you might find are mostly pied crows, and they are HELLA expensive!)

If you are looking for a legal-to-sell alternative, there are some solid black chicken breeds which have a lot of feathers that are very similar - even to the point of having a similar blue-black sheen.

7. ofearthandbone