1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Cow hide rugs

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by 3Maria3, Jul 1, 2007.

1. 3Maria3

3Maria3 New Member

USA
    What needs to be done to a cow hide so it can be used as a rug? I feed my dogs raw and someone is offering me the scraps from 2 steers (the steers aren't being slaughtered till December), since my dogs can't eat the hides I would like to make rugs out of them. I have never done anything like this before, I've only skinned a squrrrile. My father just told me to salt till it was competely dry, I did and it's a board. I don't care if its messy

Thanks
    Maria

2. RobinK

RobinK New Member

It hs to be rough fleshed big chunks of meat and fat salt dry send them to the tannerie i think its $12.00 a sqaure foot rugging is like any other animal skin except steer hides are thicker in most cases

3. Helicity

Helicity Squirrels – Natures Road Bumps

We had a problem with the cow hides we did there was alot of hair loss because cows are under alto of stress. A bull will have better fur then a cow and wont do it as much. You also have to make sure to wash those out really well because the hide on cows are just horrible (im a butcher and do this everyday btw we skin them and then throw the skins in a big rubber maid) The skins are then left outside in a shed for about 15 days before the guy comes to pick them up. By that time alot of hair is gogin to be icky and want to fall out. I hope you got a fresh hide and did something with it right away.

4. 3Maria3

3Maria3 New Member

USA
    I don't know if if has anthing to do with the thickness but when the steers are salughtered they will be 2 years old. If I have to send them to a tannery I'll just forget about it

5. 3Maria3

3Maria3 New Member

USA
    Helicity