1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Freezing fish!

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by SeanSr30, Jun 1, 2015.

1. SeanSr30

SeanSr30 Member

Hey guys just wondering how you prep your fish for the freezer when storing it for awhile before you mount it. My grandfather and I use to use a wax coated freezer paper and that was it. I've been reading on some other ways and I see a lot of people saying they wrap it in a damp paper towel and place it in a bag. Just wondering how the majority of you guys do it. Newbie question I know but then again I am new to this being on my own and going for it. I just wanna preserve them the best I can until I can get to them.

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

The best way is to take a bag and depending on the size of the fish I dump borax in the bag and then do a shake and bake on it. Make sure the fish is coated and leave it in the bag and wrap the bag around the fish, then take a damp towel and wrap that around the bag and then place it in another bag, tap it , mark it and then you can freeze it till your ready to mount.

Now never use any thing to wrap the fish first like a towel, or paper towels etc cause it will leave marks in the head if casting it and maybe in the skin. Same thing with using a vacuum sealer that will leave diamond marks in the skin and head.

3. JerseyJays

JerseyJays Well-Known Member

At what temp and how long are you baking it?

Lol j/k

4. SeanSr30

SeanSr30 Member

Thank you Frank, I will try that. Do you think the freezer paper is a bad thing then?

5. I do what Frank said except i use salt instead of borax. I dk about borax but the color retention and markings are amazing with salt.

6. Borax or salt is a total waste of money. Salt does not allow it to freeze, borax does nothing.

7. Perca

Perca Well-Known Member

[​IMG]

8. Doug Motgomery

Doug Motgomery Active Member