1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

looking for helpful criticism on my fish

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by kp1498, Oct 25, 2015.

1. kp1498

kp1498 New Member

hey there I am new to the world of taxidermy, and I have done three fish so far. the crappie was my first fish and it is hand painted. the walleye and pike were done with an airbrush. I know they are not great, but I am just looking for some helpful tips and anything to improve. Thank you!

Attached Files:

2. naturalcreati40

naturalcreati40 Active Member

I'm curious where you learned to mount fish, did you take a class or read up on it and jump in?

3. kp1498

kp1498 New Member

Just a lot of reading and research online then I decided to give it a try. These are all my own personal fish.

4. JL

JL Taxidermist for 64 years

If you want to continue to mount fish you really should find a way to get some training. There are so many areas on these fish that need to be addressed that wherever you got your information from was either lacking the needed instructions or you interpreted it wrong. However...that said, at least you tried. Learn from your mistakes and correct then as you mount your own fish. Good luck..JL

5. kp1498

kp1498 New Member

Thank you for the response, right now I'm in school, but hopefully this summer I will be able to get the proper training as mentioned. I know I have a long way to go, but I'm always looking to improve. Thank you

6. DT10Sam

DT10Sam No flow no go!

Join your state association as there is much information that will be helpful to you as well as taking seminars. That would be a start as others have said you need proper instructions to assist you in a good mount. If you continue the path you are on now it will only disappoint you. Good luck with it and do not ever give up you will excel.

Regards,
    Sam

7. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor