1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Saving pin feathered birds

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by s7ducks, Dec 6, 2015.

1. s7ducks

s7ducks Member

Hello every one,
    I think I may be on to something. I've been doing birds for at least 15 years and always had pin feathered birds turn out like crap or just plain junking them due to feather loss. This season I decided to experiment on a heavily pin feathered Widgeon of my own and a Mallard Drake. The Mallard was super sentimental to the guy and he wanted me to "Try anything" to save it.

So this is what I did, both birds had a very heavy layer of fat, so immediately after skinning I put the entire skin in denatured alcohol for about 15 minutes. At first it looked like a huge mistake. The skin shriveled up in the thin areas, but still remained somewhat flexible especially in the heavy fat areas. I then went to my normal wire wheel and and started de-fatting the bird as normal. much to my surprise the skin was a little tougher and it cleaned up very well.

Next I dunked the skin in hydrogen peroxide to remove all the blood from the skin and feathers. That kind of "plumps up" the skin and starts to lift the surface grease from the bird. Next was a soak for a couple minutes in water and Dawn dish soap, this starts the "re-hydration" on the skin. At this point I noticed I was not loosing any feathers. Normally after de-fatting and initial cleaning the bird starts loosing lots of feathers. The denatured alcohol did exactly what I hoped it would. It shrank and tightened the skin and "Set" the feathers.