1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

For those who use liqua tan

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Wilba, Feb 6, 2016.

1. Wilba

Wilba New Member

It's my first time using liqua tan, I've brushed it on and plan on mounting it the following day (deer) but I'm wondering do I need to wash the cape first or is it right to mount as is? Just wondering how the hide paste goes sticking to a oily cape.

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Yes you can give it a quick rinse to get the excess tanning agents off the cape. The hide paste will stick but it will take longer to dry cause the skin has to soak up the excess tanning oil first, that's why you rinse it so this doesn't happen to you.

3. Wilba

Wilba New Member

Thanks for the reply, was also worried about washing the tan out of the cape. It's had about 15 hours soaking on there.

4. Bruce_Rittel

Bruce_Rittel Consultant Services

Use the same method I use. It will also not effect the Liquid Tan - Tanning agent.

Instead of doing that - I'd simply fill a Black Plastic Garbage Bag with some Sawdust, add some Odorless Mineral Spirits to it to make the sawdust only damp (not soupy) and then I'd tie it off and give it a few bounces to mix it up. Afterwards, I'd place the skins or capes in, and then bounce them for 5-10 minutes - then untie the Bag and remove them. All of this being done outdoors of course - then I'd shake out the loose sawdust and blow them to groom them out!

I find that way easy - you don't end up taking any oil out of the skins or capes - and they're clean!

Johnnyclyde likes this.
  5. Wilba

Wilba New Member

Sounds good I'll give it a go. I really think some tan would wash out if the cape hasent had a chance to dry.

6. Frank E. Kotula