1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Paint color for deer noses...

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by HunterArchery, Apr 10, 2016.

1. What color are many of you folks using to airbrush your deer's nose pads? My mentor uses a special color from McKenzie called Yox Nose Pad Gray - but when we used it - at least to me - and I admit I am a newbie) - but it seems way too much of a 'grayish' color than black. From all the noses that I have seen and observed during the last 40 yrs of hunting, pics of deer, etc. - a deer's nose IS actually black indeed and not grayish. (BTW - I am a retired tattoo artist and have a pretty keen eye for colors, painting, etc.)

Thoughts?

2. Guttbag22

Guttbag22 Member

I use you gray then mist black over top gives it more depth looking than just black

3. A deer nose is actually several colors. All the paints I use are lacquer based and I use lifetone paints. I start with dusty pink, then I lightly hit the edges with neutral grey, then I mix jet black, a couple drops of off white on all the edges and the top 1/3 of the nose pad. Then I cover entire nose with gloss topcoat. That kind of eats the over spray out of the nooks and crannies and really makes the lighter tones stand out.

4. whitetails and fish only

whitetails and fish only Well-Known Member

I use burnt umber followed by payne's gray and then a light mist of intense red on upper lip.

5. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

A deer's nose is not black. If you look at a blown up closeup of a LIVE deers nose, you will see more bright flesh color than you would think possible.
    It reminds me of a black berry. At a distance, a blackberry looks, well, black. Get up close, real close and it looks purple.
    A deer's nose is the same way. It is a darkish gray on the little nodules and flesh color beneath and in between them.