1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First Bird Mount - Please Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by [email protected], May 6, 2016.

1. Nautical@28

[email protected] New Member

First of all any help would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the site and I am amazed by the talent out there.

I have mounted some small furbearing animals before but this is my first attempt at something with feathers. It did not turn out as I expected. Before mounting I read a multitude of books and watched a couple videos about bird taxidermy. I found that most material out there gave you the basics but skipped a lot of the important stuff. I have been reading posts on this forum and learned some invaluable tips but only after completing this mount. This mount has been drying for 3 weeks now.

So this is ruffed grouse and I am not sure the sex, I thought it was a male but now I’m beginning to suspect it is a female. I used a foam body, foam neck and artificial head. I stripped the secondary’s from the wing bones because that was what I read in a book. Obviously I have now read there are other ways to skin. There was a large hole in the belly on one side and I lost a good chunk of feathers only on the one side.

After skinning it was washed in dawn, rinsed, then gassed, then dumped into Borax. In the video I watched from a Master taxidermist he poured Borax all over the inside skin and outside, all over the feathers and such. I then dried and proceeded to mount. Now that it is mounted I know for sure I over stuffed the wing pit areas with cotton which is now preventing the wings from lying flat against the body.