1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Which Hide Paste to Use

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Kenny, Oct 13, 2006.

1. Kenny

Kenny New Member

I've already done a search on this subject and found that Buckeye Supreme has been recommended more than most of the others. I also seen where McKenzie has been recommended by several well known taxis. What I did not find anywhere was the mention of a dry hide paste, i.e. Sallie Dahmes hide paste, nor did I find anything on Polytranspar or Van Dyke's Brands. Have anyone used these and what were the results. Obviously I am a beginner, I have used one of the mentioned with good results, but if I am missing something I might not know it. Thanks for any input.

2. EJ

EJ Proud Member of: Unaffiliated, Free Agent

If you're using a paste now that you get good results with why worry? When I was in taxidermy school we used the dry paste that McKenzie's sells. You mix it with water and it's ready to use. It worked fine but then someone said you've got to try Buckeye and so I did. Liked it used it until McKenzie's came out with their new paste. It's the first paste I have really seen a difference in. If you have a well shaved hide and there is a detail in the form that you don't want to show you had better fill it clay or something because McKenzie paste will suck it into it! I know some don't like it but I swear by the stuff.

3. Dean

Dean New Member