1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Detachable Moose Antler Repair Needed – Please Help

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by northwoods, Jun 20, 2016.

1. northwoods

northwoods New Member

I was recently attempting to hang my shoulder moose mount and after hanging off the edge of scaffolding trying to line up the removable antler pins perfectly to slide the antlers on, I noticed that one of the pin bases in the skull cap was loose from whatever it was set in making the antler lay at a really incorrect angle on the head. After I took down the body and further inspected the pin, I was able to wiggle it around and eventually was able to pull it out of the skull cap without much force at all with 2 fingers.

I can’t take it back to taxidermist who mounted it as he’s too far away now. I’m not a professional taxidermist, but have done some of my own work with skulls, antler panels, turkey fans, etc so am somewhat familiar with some of the products used in the profession.

Should I take this to a professional taxidermist to repair or should I try to do it myself?

If I were to do it myself, what product would I use to “glue” the pin back in the hole in the skull plate? As you know the antler is very heavy and there is a lot of weight on that small pin when the antler is attached so it needs to be set very strongly so it won’t move or come loose, ever, forever.

The other side seems to be holding up well and there is no movement at all with that pin.

Any help on how to go about repairing this mount would be appreciated. Thank you.

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      85.8 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      102.1 KB
      Views:
  2. northwoods

northwoods New Member

Another photo attached.

Attached Files:

• 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      106.1 KB
      Views:

3. northwoods

northwoods New Member