1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First Whitetail shoulder mount ?

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by stokedlight86, Aug 2, 2016.

1. stokedlight86

stokedlight86 Member

I am new to the hobby of taxidermy and am grabbing at every project and opportunity to practice on pretty much anything I can get my hands on. About a month or so ago I tackled my first whitetail shoulder mount. I always seem to run into new issues and problems with ever attempt and I try my best to chuckle at my failures and count them as learning experiences. This keeps going on I'm going to have a barn full of "interesting" looking mounts hahaha.

So my question lies here. I skinned out the cape, went along with the process Ive used to tan all the hides I've done; skin, flesh, thin, salt, pickle, tan rinse, mount. The tanning process went well for the most part no slippage or anything too major except...I took my measurements and ordered my form prior to tanning and afterwards the neck on the cape was drastically smaller than the form. I know I took the correct measurements so I'm thinking that the cape shrunk during the tanning process. Everything else stayed pretty much in proprtion except for the diameter of the neck tube. I ended up shaving down the form and fighting to get the cape pulled on and now the mount looks okay except for the glaring fact that the neck looks super thin and the brisket patch didnt line up so well.. I used Mckenzies rub on tan if that info helps. what can I do or use to avoid shrinkage or to loosen the skin to allow me to stretch it back out. When I say the skin was tight I was pulling with all 200 lbs of me and it was a fight, that neck tube shrunk down to 1/2 the size. Thinning issue?

2. To me it sounds like maybe your neck wasn't thinned down enough.

3. Dave Byrd

Dave Byrd Active Member