1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First replica

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Cowtown guy, Oct 23, 2016.

1. So this is my first ever replica. EVER! I hope folks aren't too hard on me.
    This is a 28" x 17" Lakeland replica
    I know I've made a bunch of mistakes. That was kind of the point on this one. I figured the best way to learn was to just buy one and go for it.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. jakecs

jakecs Member

I'm no expert by any means. And with only doing fish for awhile the one thing that I can tell you is study reference. Your red body line is a little to high. Study and reading reference has helped me. Good luck!!

3. Thanks. I centered the stripe on the lateral line. I'll have to have a look at pictures.

4. Hi, the key to success is to have the reference photos available before you paint This will give you a better "plan". I am not sure if you've had the opportunity to view a rainbow painting video, but TTU's Frank Kotula's video will get you started on the pathway to success! Best of luck, John

5. For a "first"....this is a very good start! Reference is key. Good going!!!

6. mopsrdrawer67

mopsrdrawer67 Member

Great job. Are the high lighted scaled hand painted with a brush? Airbrush work is very nice. Like they said, the red stripe is a little high and (to me) looks too narrow, but then again, each fish is different. I've caught fish in the past that I thought would look ridiculous if they were painted the way they really were.

7. They are done with a brush. I'm going to try a few different brushes on the next one. I want it a little less "bumpy" for lack of a better word.

8. BIGUN

BIGUN Member