1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Fix Deer Ears

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by s7ducks, Dec 8, 2016.

1. s7ducks

s7ducks Member

I'm new to gamehead taxidermy, the first deerhead I did turned out great I used bondo mixed with resin for the ears and they look VERY VERY good. The problem I have is the second mount I did. I forgot to add resin to the bondo and it was too thick to get into the ear correctly. As you can guess the ears look like crap, they drummed up dried wavy on the edges and just look hideous.

IS THERE A WAY TO FIX THEM without re-hydrating and redoing the entire mount?? I got the ears to re-hydrate and tried to card them for 10 days. As soon as I took the cards off the ears went back to the horrible look

2. mopsrdrawer67

mopsrdrawer67 Member

Without the catalyst, the bondo will never harden. What I would do in your predicament is probably take extreme measures. There is no easy fix since it is mounted, but I guess I would cut a slit across the back side of each ear and remove the bondo and put in plastic ear liners from a taxidermy supply company, then 'hide glue' them back together and stitch them closed. I really cannot think of another solution. Greg

3. s7ducks

s7ducks Member

OK I'm going to answer my own question and hope it helps someone avoid the same mistake. Thank you for the reply, I did use catalyst but the bondo was too thick. I have read here and other places to mix a little fiberglass resin with the Bondo and use both catalysts. Doing this makes the Bondo a little easier to flow into all areas of the ear.