1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Just curious fellas My procedure, your thoughts.

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by WildArt2013, Feb 25, 2017.

1. WildArt2013

WildArt2013 New Member

I've mountedd 200 plus deer mounts so far. I dont know if I do things standard as I am self taught and have great success in producing great mounts. Most competition quality. (I'm not egocentric!)lol. But here is my process and it works fine Everytime. Flesh using a filet knife, salt upright to drain almost hard with a dehumidifier, straight to pickle (safetee acid) bout 3 pnds of salt in pickle, 24 hrs,.. Take out drain, rinse x2. Neutralize in sodium bicarbonate and cold water for 20 mins (no salt). Straight out and shave then tan with liqua tan... Never had the first problem and is honestly farely easy. Anyone have anything to add would be appreciated. I don't get a (huge amount of stretch in my hides but order carcus measurements. I roll on. Cold water everytime and my shop stays cool never really warm. That's really all I do. If anyone can add anything please do!! I get Great results everytime knock on wood. There's always something to learn so comment away! Thanks guys

2. WildArt2013

WildArt2013 New Member

Guess there's a lot of things I don't do and wonder if I'm that wrong.

3. WildArt2013

WildArt2013 New Member

OK maybe not all are comp quality lol. But alot

4. Jordan Park

Jordan Park Member

Lol why are you trying to learn after doing 200+ mounts and getting great results and nearly all competition quality?
    I'm very new to taxidermy, so I don't think it's fair for me to really say anything. But from what I know about pickling is you should pickle for 3 days rather than 1 and return the cape to the pickle for a day after shaving. I know there's more than one way to do it.
    It's cool that you're getting great results though!

Can we see some pics of your deer heads?