1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Help! Buffalo mount.

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by pizzo68, May 30, 2017.

1. pizzo68

pizzo68 New Member

Greetings all, I am a very green taxidermist, and I am in need of any advice for the task that I have accepted. A very good buddy of mine, and his dad, are going on a Buffalo hunt here in eastern Colorado, in 2 days. Unfortunately, It's probably going to be his Father's last hunt due to his illness...Well, he asked me to mount it for him. Obviously with his situation(and mine)I will be doing this for free. He's aware that I have never done this before but he's good with it. ANY/ALL advice accepted.

I am sure most of you are aware of East Colorado's climate and with that, is there any special care that should be rendered upon him taking this animal? I am sure the outfitter will cape it ETC, but after that, what recommendations should I pass on to him for transport of the head/hide to the house? With an animal that size, I am clueless.

What kind of products would you all recommend for cleaning/tanning/preserving a Buffalo hide specifically??

Many more questions to follow such as reference material etc, but for now, I am just curious as to where to start on this beast. THANK YOU all in advance!!

2. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member

I wouldn't even think about tanning it myself. Those things are enormous and their hides are extremely thick. Do yourself and your friend a favor and send the cape to a tannery. Find out if the outfitter fleshes and salts or just freezes the hide. Make arrangements for him to send the cape straight to the tannery.

pizzo68 likes this.

3. boarhunter67

boarhunter67 Well-Known Member

Make sure it's not dragged. Skin, flesh, and salt it as quickly as possible. When you are folding it as it dries, put newspaper between folds to absorb any moisture, and definitely send it to a tannery.