1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

HELP!!! Outdoor mule deer mount!!! ************

Discussion in 'Molding and Casting' started by Jkostella, Jun 21, 2017.

1. Jkostella

Jkostella New Member

I am in severe need of help in creating a mule deer shoulder mount to be used outside on a cabin peak.

Obviously I can't use the actual animal and I have never casted anything beyond tree bark from the silicone tutorial from josh knuth. I am very new to all of this though I have repaired deer skulls and recreated burrs on antlers and fixed tips. I do have small background on art and small sculptures but this is out of my league at this point. I don't know if I should buy a form and try sculpting it in clay or if it would be easier to cast the entire head. This guy really wants this done and I would like to try without ruining the animal.

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    Order a form cover it in acrylic stucco and texture it to recreate the hair patterns and let dry, paint to look like a deer. FYI You can order acrylic stucco in many colors.

3. Jkostella

Jkostella New Member

This will be strong enough for heavy weather and not Crack on the form? And should i use the antlers off the deer or cast those?

4. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    It will hold up fine. I'm quite certain you see buildings everywhere around with acrylic stucco over foam. In a past life that is part of what I did for a living. I would cast the antlers.

5. FishArt

FishArt Well-Known Member