1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Question on cleaning cow skulls

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by doublekdesigns, Jul 23, 2017.

1. doublekdesigns

doublekdesigns New Member

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to cleaning up skulls and such so I have a couple questions. I'm bringing home some longhorn cow skulls that have been skinned but still have all the other tissues on them. Its been really hot here and I don't have a cool place to keep them or much time to mess with the them day I'm bringing them home. So, what should I do with them? I've heard you can bury them but I don't know how long to leave them without the skull or horns getting messed up. I would boil them but I don't have anything big enough to put them in, and I don't think my mom would want me to boil them in her kitchen and stink it up ;) Any help/advice is appreciated!

2. Put each in a large plastic bag and macerate them (remove as much tissue as possible before). This approach would also allow for the removal of the horn sheaths.
    Kendall

3. doublekdesigns

doublekdesigns New Member

Could you explain what that is/how to do it? I've never heard of that!

4. Do a search under the Skulls and Skeletons section and you will find a lot of useful information about this process.

5. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

As Kendall said. Use the Advanced Search. Search only in the Skulls and Skeletons section. Use good terms like horn removal, longhorn horn removal, skull maceration, skull cleaning .... ect. Get a cup of brew of your choice and start reading. They are already going to reek after a day in that heat so working on them in your house will be an absolute no no for several reasons.

6. woakley144

woakley144 Active Member