1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Doing my first mount (coyote), tips/answers/etc needed

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Tarathelion, Aug 15, 2017.

1. Tarathelion

Tarathelion New Member

Hi there,

I have a mountable coyote cape currently, a correctly sized shoulder form on the way (as well as eyes, clay and a tucking tool)

I'm looking for some step-by-step processes of mounting (specifically shoulder mounts)

and just like tips, what to look out for, etc.

I know how to skin and tan and clean and flesh etc etc, I'm not new to taxidermy, I'm new to mounting.
    Some questions i have:

Hide paste/glue?? (confused on it as a whole)
    ear placement? (tips please)
    eye lids/tucking ? (confused about this as a whole)
    Whisker posing, how?
    pinning? (how long do i need to leave the pins in, etc)
    ***how long do i have to fix errors before its unreversable?

anyway, thank you!!
    I'll post pictures once everything arrives

2. ortegageno

ortegageno Active Member

NM
    Well Hell, I thought taxidermy was mounting of the skin. I guess iv been working under the wrong title as Taxidermist. Lol
    As far as glue there are many available in supply catalogs.
    And if you have skinned many animals then you know where the ear placement should be. Use the skull as reference.
    Step by step videos are also available in the supply catalogs.
    Reference pics of live animals will show you where the whiskers belong. Make sure you seperate all the wisker bulbs and add a bit of clay on the form where the whiskers pad will sit in order to correctly position each wisker.
    And if you use a goof glue you should not need any pins. The only pin I use is to hold the front corner of the eye skin in place.

3. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member