1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Tanning advice?

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Saeto15, Aug 26, 2017.

1. Saeto15

Saeto15 New Member

Hey guys, I'm a beginner and I need some advice on tanning pelts. I've been learning since last summer and I just finished up a new batch of pelts (raccoon, squirrel, and my first coyote) and I'm wondering about the texture of the leather. I have a rabbit pelt I bought from a pro tanner and that's what I'm comparing my pelts to.

I'm fairly sure I'm not degreasing enough, especially on the raccoon, and I think on this batch I went too close and exposed the hair roots while shaving. I haven't had any slippage except on the squirrel. I'm using a trubond 1000b paint-on tan for wallhangers, following the printed instructions that came with the kit. Is this what it's supposed to look like for a paint-on tan? The hides are pliable and the fur is nice, but the leather just looks grody to me.

Images and captions here: http://imgur.com/a/wLsTD

notbuffalobill likes this.
  2. Rhino

Rhino Too many irons in the fire will put the fire out!

Not enough degreasing , as you stated. While the hides are still slightly damp, start stretching them by hand.
    What appeared to be the coyote, needs more shaving, as do others. I know it's hard to shave the small stuff. A little trick.

After pickling , and before shaving, use a pressure washer. About 1500-2000 psi, using the jet tip, spray ALL AREAS of the skin, trying to overlap the passes. You will see all the membrane plump and become a jelly like substance. After this let it drain for 15-20 min, THEN SHAVE the skins. Everything will shave off with ease! Much easier than regular shaving right out of the pickle.(great for the novice shaver)