1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Fish fill

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Zrtaylor39, Sep 7, 2017.

1. Zrtaylor39

Zrtaylor39 New Member

question about fish fill. I use Tom sextons WFF fish filler. Is there anything that I can add to it like a 50/50 mix to make it a little more firm and less likely to break away. I mix it to the consistnacy of clay and do not want to mix it to wet. When filling the fish I want tomethinf that sticks together a little better. I am new at taxidermy and I have tried looking on the forum to see if anyone has posted about this but could not find it.

2. Cecil

Cecil Well-Known Member

If you find something let me know too!

I did mix it 50/50 with the other fish filler McKenzie sells and it was stronger.

Btw the other fish filler makes outstanding rocks by sealing, painting, and rubbing the high spots with steel wool!

3. JL

JL Taxidermist for 64 years

I don't use fish fill as I carve all my bodies or purchase them if they fit...however that said...you might try substituting some of your mixing water with Elmer's Wood glue. That might give a bit more strength after everything sets up. Just a thought...JL

4. drwalleye

drwalleye Member

I use the fish fill from Dan Rinehart Tasco and really like iit. I can mix it to a ball that is not wet at all and roll it out like clay. I tried tom sexton and seems like its always to wet or crumbly

5. Cecil

Cecil Well-Known Member

JL what do you use in the cheeks of the fish you mount?

6. Zrtaylor39

Zrtaylor39 New Member

I will try and few different things and see how it works. I do agree even if it's not mixed to wet it seems like it wants to crumble but overall it does a decent job

7. whitetails and fish only

whitetails and fish only Well-Known Member