1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Turpentine and Alcohol on small game mounts?

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Korde, Sep 9, 2017.

1. Korde

Korde New Member

HI everyone,
    Newbie here. How many use the turpentine/alcohol method for doing smaller game mounts, and if they do, what is the ratio that you use?

Thanks,
    Ethan

2. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

I believe Chuck Testa can help you with that. I saw a video by him on Youtube or maybe his website that had a segment on this.

I personally believe there are much better ways to preserve a skin, such as DP or tanning.

3. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Henry Wichers Inchemunk, the master of small game used denatured alcohol to pickle his small game skins. I don't know what turpentine is supposed to do except give your mount an odd odor. Dry preserve is as simple as it will ever get without any mess or conventional tanning methods are easily don'e.

4. Turpentine and denatured alcohol is the combo Chuck Testa uses. I maybe wrong but I think he explained that the turpentine helps keep the skin soft since denatured alcohol can make the hide stiff.

5. George

Chuck Tesla's work speaks for itself.

6. I've watched a few of his videos, does does a good segment on mannikan alterations

7. GregJ

GregJ Active Member

Does the denatured alcohol just control micro growth while the mount dries and make it dry quickly? It would evaporate quickly and leave nothing behind that could control microbes in the future-right?

8. Possum Pete

Possum Pete New Member

Do you like his work?

Johnnyclyde likes this.
  9. Tanglewood Taxidermy

I know you are asking George, however, I find chucks work to be somewhat lacking and sub parr according to my standards. He's not horrible, just not at the average or above category.

10. BakerBoystaxidermy

BakerBoystaxidermy New Member