1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Wanting prices....

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by woakley144, Sep 19, 2017.

1. woakley144

woakley144 Active Member

I had a call yesterday wanting prices for Whitetail mounts. No problem... right??? But then the guy goes into how I tan, whether I send them out to the tannery or in house tan..... I told him I try to do my own tanning and he was almost insulting about in house tanning is not the quality of a commercial tanning. I explained to him that I have been tanning for about 6 years and have not had any issue with the mounts.

I understand that when you do 50+ it's not realistic to do your own tanning, but I average 20-30 whitetails a year, plus all the misc capes I mount. Had an issue one time with commercial tan slipping, and very seldom do I have a cape slip.....

What's you guys take on tanning your whitetails?

2. Cecil

Cecil Well-Known Member

I don't do furry creatures anymore but my take is stick to your guns and if the customer does't like your prices or that you tan your own so be it. Sometimes the know it alls are a pain in the ass anyway. It's not like you really need him right? Could also be another taxidermist posing as a customer.

Years ago when I did whitetails I had a guy call me and act like I had to beg him to do his deer, and went on and on and on about how special the deer was blah, blah, blah. Having work to do and tired of the hot air I finally told him I had all the whitetails I wanted to do for the season and good luck shopping around. You could have heard a pin drop. ;D