1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Mold on antlers and breaking

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by RyanL313, Oct 1, 2017.

1. RyanL313

RyanL313 New Member

Hey guys, I have been cleaning skulls for about 5 years using maceration, but last winter was the first time I had done a white tail buck. The issue I am having is the antlers are getting a white mold on them, which comes right off. Also, they are very fragile and are breaking. I don't know what is causing this, I only have them in enough water to cover the actual skull for degreasing.

It has taken me a very long time to get them going, because I set up a new tank with an old freezer, so that it would be insulated and I can leave it outside, since the antlers wont allow me to put them in a bucket. I am not a afraid to admit my mistake, I had it wired wrong and the water got very hot, 200 degrees hot. Did I cook the antlers, and cause the problems I am having now because of this? Or is this a problem that happens with all antlers? Any advice on how to fix them? I was thinking maybe I could drill holes in either side of the breaks and put a dowel in them, but I am afraid they will just fall apart if I try that.

Thanks in advance!!! Ryan

2. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

200 is almost boiling so yes, I would say they got completely cooked. Care to post pictures? Many of the epoxies are strong enough to make repairs. The only other antler issues I remember are with uncommon, odd antlers that are chocolate colored. They seem to swell and explode when macerating for some reason.

3. RyanL313

RyanL313 New Member

I just tried to attach the photos, but the maximum file size is 192kg and I don't know how to achieve that, or what that means.

4. Sea Wolf

Use any free photo hosting site except Photobucket. I use postimg.org and it is very easy to post large images.

5. RyanL313

RyanL313 New Member