1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Needing a redear sunfish blank

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Fishingtyler, Oct 10, 2017.

1. Fishingtyler

Fishingtyler New Member

Ok I'm new here and I'm new to taxidermy. Recently a friend of mine caught a massive red ear sunfish. (12" long 12"girth)
    And he wants a replica. (Fish was released) I told him I was wanting to start doing a little replica work on the side so what better way to start right now and help him out right? Well I can't find anyone who has any red ear blanks. Anyone have any recommendations?? Thanks for the help.

2. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

A bit of creative Apoxie work on the "ear" tab will make any bluegill blank look like a redear.

3. I have a few molds in the 12" range. And no George a bluegill and a redear have totally different anatomy.

4. Brian Reinertson

Brian Reinertson Well-Known Member

Iowa
    George, don't let us down. Tell Randy how he is wrong and your advice is correct.. :-X

5. George