1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Drying a Turkey

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Smittee, Oct 16, 2017.

1. Smittee

Smittee Member

What is a good way to dry a turkey. I am new to taxidermy and don’t want to buy a tumbler or master blaster dryer yet. Thank you.

2. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

1) Hang to drip dry for an hour or more.

2) Place a clean dry towel into the skin side and lay skin feathers out, on another clean dry towel and roll it up for a while.

3) Place corncob grit in to a plastic tote, remove towels and hand tumble for a while until it becomes somewhat fluffy.

4) Blow dry with a blow drier on medium heat and alternate with no heat.

This how I dry them.

3. Tanglewood Taxidermy

A washing machine on spin cycle works well also for initial water removal.

4. critterstuffr

critterstuffr New Member

Flip the hose on a clean or cleaned out shop-vac. All i've used for years from Teal to turkeys and mink to bears works great. I tumble my birds first but that wasn't your question.

5. Birds Only

Birds Only Member

I don't use DAWN EVER on any of my turkeys. Hate the stuff. When I do have to wash my turkey's (Which is about every 3rd or 4th one) I use ONLY powder TIDE. Wash once in TIDE, rinse once in clean water. Squeeze as much water out by hand, then towel squeeze more, then blow dry with shop vac in reverse with a hair dryer in intake with heat set on high. I NEVER tumble my turkeys, EVER. All this after the bird has been fleshed.

6. Tom Maul

Tom Maul Active Member

BO...
    I'd like to try the powdered tide
    Would you share with me about how much tide per how much water?
    Also, why do you hate dawn? You really have my interested peaked.
    You do a helluva turkey, man. If TIDE is helping you get the results you're getting... please, do tell!... ;D

7. Tanglewood Taxidermy