1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Salt

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Sasky_bowhunter, Oct 24, 2017.

1. Sasky_bowhunter

Sasky_bowhunter New Member

I am just starting out and learning and am looking for information. My local feed shop only carries cubed water softener salt, and bagged blue stock salt. The bagged stuff is 97% pure but has a small amount of iodine and cobalt added. Is this blue salt safe to use to salt hides??

2. Glenn M

Glenn M Well-Known Member

You want fine salt , like what you would use on your kitchen table. I am sure they can order it for you. The feed stores around here usually have Morton purex salt , or Top flow salt

3. tazzymoto

tazzymoto Active Member

Go to tractor supply and get their stock salt. It's like table salt.

4. Sasky_bowhunter

Local feed shop is a co-op and they can not get anything else in. And the closest tractor supply from is probably 8 hours. I am in Canada. I will try the city and look around.

5. whitetails and fish only

whitetails and fish only Well-Known Member

I have used canning salt that you can buy in grocery store. For large amounts I buy at local feed store.

6. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

Regular table salt will work in a pinch, even, iodized table salt will work.

7. Sasky_bowhunter