1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

dead larvae

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by SpanishGirl, Nov 20, 2017.

1. SpanishGirl

SpanishGirl Member

Spain
    Hi guys, I know that there is too many post about beetles, and i read a lot of them but i wanted to know how do you feed them when you havent flesh, I mean, I read to feed them with dog/cat food but it also that way has mites.
    The fact is that I lost more than a half of my colony and I think it was mites (only the larvae died) cause i fed them for a two moths with dog food. So yesterday I cleaned the cages with bleach and put the survivors with new nests and stuff and left some flesh in.
    What do you think?

2. Rottdogs

Rottdogs New Member

I am new to the beetles, and what I have done when I don't have a head in with them, I will cut a amount off of whatever meat I am cooking that night for dinner and put some of it in with them. I have done roast, hamburger and even a hotdogs. You can also when you get an animal you are going to clean to put in with the beetles, keep some of the pieces in the freezer that you can take out and feed them when you are not using to clean. Good Luck

3. SpanishGirl

SpanishGirl Member

Spain
    I had not thought about that, the biggest problem I have is that I haven't them in my home, but in the country house, so I'll let them a huge piece of meat.
    Thank you for the advice!

4. SpanishGirl

SpanishGirl Member

Spain
    Hey! it's me again... Two months has passed and beetles did not lay any egg, even they have fresh flesh. The temperature is ok and the general conditions are the same as this summer, when the colony raised quikly.
    What could I do to motivate them to multiplicate?

5. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member