1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Broken skull plate. any ideas?

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by Nina Lukaszewicz, Aug 3, 2007.

1. Nina Lukaszewicz

Nina Lukaszewicz Outdoor Dreams Taxidermy

I recently bought this blacktail set and I already have a cape for it. They were cut for shipping so I need ideas on how to put them back together so they are strong. I would have just "bondoed" them back together but the skull plate is also cut thin if you can see what I mean. Any help will be appreciated. Bear with me on the pics, they are from my phone.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. rocky don

rocky don the best collie that walks the earth!!

i think in van dykes they make those articicial metal plates that you can use!
    i think you have to drill a hole on the horns though!

3. rnviper3

rnviper3 New Member

Nina,
    i am no pro at this, but i had a caribou horn i had to make detachable. when i see your set of horns what i think of is 2 things. mount them like detachable horns would be, but don't detach them (if that makes sense). just epoxy the square peg in solid rather than in a tube that you would remove. the other one may be to use a piece of metal on the inside of the skull plate and screw some screws up into the base of the horn. but if it were me i think i would go with the first idea. good luck and let us know what you come up with.
    bob

4. rnviper3

rnviper3 New Member

here is a bad picture of what i was thinking.

5. Becky P

Becky P One must believe the glass is half full.

I just set them the same a whole plate, but instead of 3 screws I use 3 on each side. It can be tricky to keep them lined up though. I'll be watching this post for tips myself ;)

6. mark11

mark11 now accepting new wholesale clients